A letter from 14 Labor leaders

Dear DNC Member, 

We in the labor movement know the value of having a true friend and committed advocate for workers. In state after state, working families are under attack – their pensions, their wages, their unions, their public schools, their right to vote. But Minnesota has held off the anti-worker tide because Keith Ellison, the state party, and their labor allies working together have won elections. 

As we confront historic threats to workers, the Democratic Party needs a leader who can energize the grassroots and champion the challenges of everyday Americans. That leader is Keith Ellison. 

Keith’s been with us every step of the way. He’s stood firmly on the side of our members from the halls of Congress to the picket lines. From fast food workers demanding a union, to industrial workers campaigning for fair trade policy, to communications workers protesting pension cuts, Keith has been there.

Labor knows the power of organizing, and Keith knows it too. Keith has turned his Minnesota congressional district into the highest turnout district in the highest turnout state. With a passion for door knocking and labor at his side, he’s rolled up his sleeves and built a turnout machine one conversation at a time. He’ll bring a labor mentality to the DNC, focusing on recruiting, training, and deploying the grassroots to boost voter turnout across the country. 

There are many strong candidates in this race, but we ask you to join us in supporting Keith. We stand firmly behind Keith because we know he’s a proven organizer who will bring the voice of working people with him to the DNC.  

In solidarity,

J. David Cox, Sr., National President, American Federation of Government Employees (AFGE)

Richard L. Trumka, President, American Federation of Labor – Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO)

Lee Saunders, President, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME)

Randi Weingarten, President, American Federation of Teachers (AFT)

Mark Dimondstein, President, American Postal Workers Union (APWU)

Larry Hanley, President, Amalgamated Transit Union (ATU)

Christopher M. Shelton, President, Communication Workers of America (CWA)

James Hoffa, General President, International Brotherhood of Teamsters (IBT)

Fredric V. Rolando, President, National Association of Letter Carriers (NALC)

Lily Eskelsen García, President, National Education Association (NEA)

RoseAnn DeMoro, Executive Director, National Nurses United (NNU)

Dennis Williams, President, United Autoworkers (UAW)

Cecil Roberts, President, United Mine Workers of America (UMWA)

Leo W. Gerard, International President, United Steelworkers (USW)